June 29, 2014 Concert Preview

SUNDAY, JUNE 29, 2014

The Summer Evenings of Music series concludes next Sunday, June 29th at 7:30 P.M.  A pre-talk begins an hour earlier. The Fine Arts Quartet will be joined by two guests – violist Gil Sharon and cellist Alexander Hülshoff.

Together they will play two sextets. Richard Strauss wrote a romantic Capriccio which formed the heart of his opera by the same name. And Tchaikovsky will return again with a sextet inspired by travels to Italy in 1890 – Souvenir de Florence. Violist Gil Sharon will join the quartet for a Mozart String Quintet in C minor, K406/516b.

With guest cellist Alexander Hülshoff and violist Gil Sharon

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – String Quintet No 2, KV 406

Read about the Quintet here

The Quintet is a transcription of Wind Serenade No 12, K 388 also known as Nacht Musique – read about the Serenade here

Watch a YouTube of the Amernet Quartet (in four parts) P1  P2  P3  P4

Watch a YouTube of the Serenade No 12 in a performance at TCNJ (The College of New Jersey) Center for the Arts  (in four parts) P1   P2  P3  P4

Richard Strauss – Sextet from ‘Capriccio’, Op 85

The Sextet is a complete composition which is featured within an opera by the same name.

Watch a YouTube from the 3rd International Chamber Music Festival ‘Joaquín Turina’

Read a synopsis of the opera here

Biography of Richard Strauss

Pyotr Tchaikovsky – Sextet ‘Souvenir de Florence’, Op 70

Watch a YouTube of the RNO Soloists playing the sextet

Read about the composition

Biography of Pyotr Tchaikovsky


Read Gil Sharon’s bio

Read Alexander Huelshoff’s bio

Supporting the quartet's appearances in Millwaukee